- Related Webpages
To expand and collapse the navigation please click on the headingsGo to other Related Subject areas
The origins of the castle
Built shortly after the Norman Conquest, Oswestry Castle rises high above the rest of the town and was once owned by the powerful Fitz Alan family and pre-dates the town.
The origins of Oswestry Castle date to around 1086, when a castle L’oeuvre was recorded in the Domesday Book as being built by Rainald, Sheriff of Shropshire in the Hundred of Meresberie.
Prior to the Norman Conquest the region surrounding the castle is thought to have been a frontier outpost that saw both Welsh and Anglo-Saxon mix together. The first mention of the town came in 1272 when references appear concerning the settlement of Blancminster, which refers to the white stone of Oswestry church.
The Welsh were already acknowledging a ‘Creos Oswallt’ in 1254, a name suggests a link with St. Oswald, the Northumbrian King who was killed at the Battle of Maeserfelth (a location reputed to be near the town) in AD 641. It is possible that, being so close to the border, Oswestry started off its life as a Welsh settlement.
After the Norman Conquest the region was granted to Roger de Montgomery by William the Conqueror. In turn it passed to Rainald who is thought to have built the first castle. After Rainald the castle passed to Alan Fitzlaad, descendant to the mighty Fitzalans, who later became the Lords of Clun and Arundel (in southern England).
The Civil War between Stephen and Matilda in the 1130’s saw William Fitzalan I join forces with Matilda. When Matilda withdrew from England and Stephen took the throne he was forced to give up Oswestry Castle and its estates.
Conflict between the English and the Welsh
The castle was occupied by the Welshman Madoc ap Maerdydd the Prince of Powys, between 1149 and 1157, and he also held the Lordship of the area. However, when King Henry II came to the throne he returned the castle to the Fitzalan family.
There was frequent conflict between the Welsh and the English, which saw the area and the castle sacked numerous times. Oswestry Castle was also used by King Henry II as a base for his (unsuccessful) campaigns against the Welshman Owain Gwynned, which demonstrates the importance that the castle held as it was on the Welsh border.
In 1211 King John made moves against Llwellyn Fawr North Wales and once more Oswestry Castle came under attack. By 1270, as a result of all the action that the castle had seen, the castle’s walls had been extended to surround the town.
In the 14th Century the Welshman Owain Glyndwr continued the hostility of the Welsh against English dominance and he attempted to establish himself as the rightful Prince of Wales.
Oswestry had its first Short Charter granted by William III at the end of the 12th Century. This awarded the area similar customs and liberties as the larger and already prosperous Shrewsbury. A second charter was granted in 1263 and in 1399 Oswestry was granted a Royal Charter.
Oswestry was now becoming a gateway to Wales and in 1276, Llywellyn Gruffyd agreed to meet Edward I at the castle, rather than travel to London. Oswestry was becoming neutral territory for the English and the Welsh but it still needed to retain its military function in case of further attacks by Welsh rebels.
Classic Norman Design
The construction of Oswestry Castle was of the classic Norman design; a polygonal Shell Keep on top of a motte with an outer bailey. Its walling has been measured as approximately 2.44m thick. However a walk around the base and the summit today show that all of its features have disappeared. The ditch that would have surrounded the motte has long since been filled, as has the southern bailey. Furthermore, a barbican (outer fortification designed to protect the entrance to the castle)is reputed to have stood on a second mound in the now Castle Street, but this was sadly taken down around 1850.
Documentary evidence shows that between 1160 and 1175 over £2,000 was spent on alterations, such as palisades and a well. Two towers are thought to have stood at the North East and North West regions of the castle. Although no real record exists to support this, other than an 18th Century painting which clearly shows one such turret.
A survey carried out in 1395 talks of great, middle and high chambers, the Constables Hall, the buttery, the chapel, kitchen and larder. Unfortunately none of these are visible today and we do not know the exact layout of the castle. Mention of these rooms does show that the castle would have had a domestic function as well as a military one.
In the 15th century the castle was noted as being in a state of disrepair. In 1530 the King’s historian John Leyland noted that despite its state, the famous Madoc’s Tower was still visible at the castle. A survey carried out in 1632 by John Norden on behalf of Thomas Howard, Earl of Suffolk, found that although £20 was being spent on the castle each year the burgesses of the town were removing the stone of the castle for buildings elsewhere in the town. The main tower had been stripped of its timber, iron and lead, as had the castle gates.
The Siege in the Civil War
The outbreak of the English Civil War in 1642 shortly revived the need for Oswestry Castle as a military stronghold. It was strengthened to some degree, following the town’s declaration of support for King Charles I and the Royalist cause. In June 1644 the castle was under the control of Colonel Edward Lloyd of Llanforda (Royalist), but it was subsequently laid to siege by Thomas Mytton (Parliamentarian) of Halston Hall, near Whittington, who was soon joined by the earl of Denbigh.
Oswestry was surrounded by cannon and its town gates were battered into submission. Parliamentarian troops were then able to surround the castle and after one or two minor scuffles the walls were mined (pits dug underneath the walls to compromise their stability) just before nightfall. The following day ‘Buttars,’ a type of early grenade, were used to storm the gates. The Royalist troops were forced to surrender and the castle fell into the hands of the Parliamentarians. There were some attempts by the Royalists to recapture the castle, which suggests that it still held some military significance.
The Ruins of the Castle
Following the Civil War Oswestry Castle was almost completely destroyed by the Parliamentarians, to ensure that it was uninhabitable. Much of the stone was then carted off to be reused in new buildings around the town and all that remained of the structure was a small collection of stones.
In the 20th century Oswestry Castle was placed in the control of the local council and the motte and surrounding area were turned into a public park. Today the only visible remains are some fragments of the walling.