To expand and collapse the navigation please click on the headings
Go to other Related Subject areasIntroduction to Glazeley
Introduction to the history of Glazeley
History
Glazeley is a small parish bordering Chelmarsh, Billingsley, Deuxhill and Chetton. Much of its eastern boundary is formed by the Borle Brook, although the north-east part of the parish crosses the Borle to extend into Chelmarsh.
Near to Glazeley Church is a mound; this has variously been considered as part of a medieval castle and the base of a windmill. However, English Heritage currently list the site as a Bronze Age burial mound. No other pre-historic archaeology is recorded.
At the end of the 7th Century, lands in Chelmarsh, Eardington and Deuxhill were given to the newly founded church at Much Wenlock. There is no reference to Glazeley in this grant, but given its proximity to both Deuxhill and Chelmarsh, it is tempting to think that all were part of a large estate, in the hands of the rulers of the Magonsaete, the Saxon kingdom that existed in this part of Shropshire. The “ley” part of the name, Glazeley, indicates that at this time it was largely wooded; part of a tract of wood that extended through Billingsley, Highley and Kinlet to the Wyre Forest.
In 1066 Glazeley was held by Aelward. He appears to have been a prosperous landowner (he also held Eudon Burnell and Oldbury) but was of little significance outside the area. By 1086 it belonged to Roger de Montgomery, Earl of Shrewsbury who sub-let it to Reginald, sheriff of Shropshire. Reginald in turn had an under-tenant called Azo. This pattern of tenure, from Earl Roger to Reginald to an undertenant was common to many estates in Shropshire. For a small manor, it was surprisingly well developed as it had both a mill and a priest.
The Domesday pattern of land-holding in Shropshire was much disrupted in the 12th Century following a failed rebellion by Robert de Belleme, one of Earl Roger sons, in 1102. Many estates that had been held by Earl Roger and Reginald passed to the Fitz Alans and this included Glazeley. The FitzAlans were one of the most important families in Shropshire and were often content to continue with under-tenants in their lands. At Glazeley these were the Pierrepoints. In the 13th Century, they become known as the de Glazeley’s. In the early 14th Century Alan de Glazeley was particularly important in the administration of Shropshire and his name frequently occurs in the Patent Rolls; instructions from the King to his administrators in the different parts of the country.
In the centuries that followed the Middle Ages, the manor passed through the hands of numerous individuals, most of whom lived away from the parish. However, in the 16th Century it was acquired by the Wyldes who settled at the Woodlands, a large house in the north-east of the parish. They and their descendants retained ownership of most of the land in the village. By the early 20th Century the Woodland and the Glazeley estate had passed to the Crook family.
It is very likely that the Domesday church of Glazeley was on the site of the present structure. However, this has been rebuilt on numerous occasions. In 1875, the old “mainly brick” building was replaced by the current church. It retains a number of features from its various predecessors including a 1599 brass of Thomas Wylde and a 12th Century font. From Tudor times the living has been amalgamated with that of Deuxhill; by the 19th Century it was also combined with Chetton. Currently Glazeley and Deuxhill are grouped with Highley, Billingsley and Chelmarsh into a single living.