To expand and collapse the navigation please click on the headings
Go to other Related Subject areasDiscover Bridgnorth
A short history
Bridgnorth, Shropshire, is named after a bridge over the River Severn, built further north than an earlier bridge at Quatford.
The historic riverside town of Bridgnorth (population 12,212) nestles comfortably into the Severn Valley less than 30 miles from Birmingham and some 20 miles from Shrewsbury. It is split into Low Town and High Town, neatly divided by a huge sandstone cliff and the River Severn.
Low Town, home to Bridgnorth railway station on the Severn Valley Railway, is connected to High Town by the steepest inland cliff railway in Britain, the Castle Hill Railway.
The earliest mention of Bridgnorth in historical records was in 895 when the Danes set up a camp at 'Cwatbridge'. In 912 Ethelfleda, the lady of Mercia and King Alfred's daughter, built a castle at 'Bridge'.
The same year, Roger de Montgomery founded a church at Quatford dedicated to St Mary Magdalene. Robert de Belleme, son of Roger, succeeded as Earl in 1098 and in 1101 he transferred both church and borough to a more defendable site at Bridgnorth.
In 1102 Henry I besieged Bridgnorth for three months and took it from Robert de Belleme. The town then began to extend into the High Street and became a 'Royal Peculiar'. This meant its church was not subject to a bishop's rule, and the king became its Patron.
In 1157 Bridgnorth received its first Royal charter.
Bridgnorth Town Wall was built in the reign of Henry 111. In the early part of his reign a stockade composed mainly of dead timber was present but by 1260 this stockade had been almost completely replaced by a strong stone wall.
In 1295 Bridgnorth sent its first members to Parliament.
In 1646 Bridgnorth was held for the King during the Civil War, but on 3 1 st March, Parliamentary forces forcibly entered St Leonard's Close. Some of the guards were killed, and Colonel Billingsley, the Royalists' leader, was mortally wounded and died.
The Royalists retreated back inside the Castle, setting fire to some stables in Listley Street (not far from Bridgnorth Library). St Leonard's Church was also set alight by incendiary 'bombs' fired from the north east tower of the Castle. This caused ammunition stored inside the Church to explode and burning timbers were scattered all over the High Town.
Most of the old town records were housed within the church and were lost in the fire which subsequently destroyed most of the High Town. A few half timbered buildings from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries have survived.
On 26 April 1646 the Castle surrendered to Royalist forces and during the next year was virtually destroyed. Unfortunately no plans or drawings exist of the Castle before its demolition but limited archaeology exists behind the Post Office and in Pound Street and part of the ancient keep can be seen in the Castle Grounds.
For many centuries, Bridgnorth was an extremely busy river port. Merchandise was ferried down river in trows or barges and pulled up the river by teams of four to eight men harnessed to a tow rope. Bridgnorth's early trades included malting, tanning, weaving, nailers, drapers and iron founders.
Bridgnorth has always had many ale houses, mainly due to the river traffic, the earliest was recorded in 1203. The town had at least two breweries.
Between 1804 and 18 15 steam locomotives were built at Hazeldine's foundry in Low Town. One famous one called Catch Me Who Can was built in 1808 and was the first steam locomotive to draw fare paying passengers, at one shilling a ride.
The river trade began to decline with the opening of the railway in 1862, and in 1895 the last barge came down the river, the last trow being built in 1868.
In 1891 the Cliff Railway was opened and is now the only inland inclined railway in England, operating a service throughout the year.
In 1910 the Northgate was restored / rebuilt.
Other notable buildings are the seventeenth century Bridgnorth Town Hall and a surviving town gate. Daniel's Mill, an historic iron watermill is situated a short distance along the River Severn from Bridgnorth and is well worth a visit.
In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles listed Bridgnorth like this:
Bridgnorth, mun. bor. with ry. sta., Shropshire, on river Severn 7 miles S. of Coalport, 13 1/2 miles SW. of Wolverhampton, 24 miles SE. of Shrewsbury and 149 miles NW. of London, 3194 ac., pop. 5885; 3 Banks, 1 newspaper. Market day, Saturday. The town is picturesquely situated on both sides of the river, which is here spanned by a handsome bridge. B. has mfrs. of carpets and worsted, and some trade in agricultural produce. It is an ancient town, said to have been founded by a daughter of King Alfred. A large portion of the castle, built shortly after the Conquest, still remains. B. returned 1 member till 1885.
Local and family history resources
As part of the Discover Shropshire project, Bridgnorth Library now has a Local History Centre. Additional resources are being provided and access is being improved through guiding, cataloguing and digitisation. A guide to the local and family history resources available at Bridgnorth Library can be found by following the link below.
Related Links on other Websites
- Local and family history resources at Bridgnorth Library